Scheduled areas

Why in News?

The Union Cabinet has approved a three-year-old proposal to expand Scheduled Areas in Rajasthan beyond three districts.



5th Scheduled Areas

i)The President is empowered to declare an area to be scheduled area. He can also increase or decrease its area, alter its boundary lines, rescind such designation or make fresh orders for such redesignation on an area in consultation with the governor of the state concerned.

ii)The executive power of a state extends to the scheduled areas therein. The Governor is required to submit a report to the President regarding the administration of such areas.

iii)Each state having Scheduled area have to establish a tribes advisory council to advice on welfare and advancement of the scheduled tribes.

It consists of 20 members, three-fourths of whom are to be the representative of the scheduled tribes in the state legislative assembly.

iv)The Governor is empowered to direct that any particular act of Parliament or the State Legislature does not apply to a scheduled area or apply with specified modification and exception.


NOTE4STUDENTS-The current fifth scheduled areas are in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha .and Rajasthan.