Official languages of the UN

Why in News?

The External Affairs Ministry has stated that efforts are on to make Hindi one of the official languages in the UN.



i)There are six official languages of the UN.  These are Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.

ii)These languages are used at meetings of various UN organs, particularly the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, and the Security Council.

iii)The Charter of the United Nations, its 1945 constituent document, did not expressly provide for official languages of the UN. The Charter was enacted in five languages (Chinese, French, Russian, English, and Spanish) and provided (in Article 111) that the five texts are equally authoritative.

iv)Recently efforts have been made to make languages like Hindi, Bengali, Portuguese, Turkish etc official language.



Source-The Hindu.