Nuclear Weapons at a glance

Why in News?

In 2017 a UN Resolution, pledging the abolition of Nuclear Weapons was passed, however, the 9 Nuclear Weapon States have not yet come on board.



Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

The Treaty was adopted on 7 July 2017, after two rounds of negotiations at the UN General Assembly. Both rounds were boycotted by all nuclear weapons possessing states, most NATO countries, and many military allies of nuclear weapons states.


Basic Obligations under the Treaty

i)It  prohibits States Parties from developing, testing, producing, manufacturing, acquiring, possessing, or stockpiling nuclear weapons or other nuclear explosive devices.

ii)Signatories are barred from transferring or receiving nuclear weapons and other nuclear explosive device.

iii)States are also prohibited from using or threatening to use nuclear weapons and other nuclear explosive devices.

iv)States Parties cannot allow the stationing, installation, or deployment of nuclear weapons and other nuclear explosive devices in their territory.

v)States Parties are obligated to provide victim assistance and help with environmental remediation efforts.



The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons does not contain a verification regime. Each State Party must maintain its existing safeguards agreements with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)



i)Five are considered to be nuclear-weapon States (NWS) under the terms of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT). In order of acquisition of nuclear weapons, these are the United States, Russia (the successor state to the Soviet Union), the United Kingdom, France, and China.

ii)The Non-official nuclear states are -Pakistan, India, Israel and North Korea.


Source-The Hindu.