IAF initiates step to buy 83 Tejas aircraft

Why in News?

The Indian Air Force (IAF) recently issued the Request for Information (RFI) for 83 Tejas light combat aircraft with specific enhancements.



About Tejas

The HAL Tejas is an Indian single-seat, single-jet engine, a multirole light fighter designed by the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) for the Indian Air Force and Navy.


It is the smallest and lightest in its class of contemporary supersonic combat aircraft. The first Tejas IAF unit, No. 45 Squadron IAF Flying Daggers was formed on 1 July 2016 with two aircraft. Initially being stationed at Bangalore, the first squadron will be placed at its home base at Sulur, Tamil Nadu.


LCA Tejas is not the first indigenous fighter to be inducted into the IAF. In April 1967, IAF had formed the first operational squadron with the indigenous HF-24 Marut fighter.


Aeronautical Development Agency

The Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) of India’s Ministry of Defence was established at Bangalore, in 1984 to oversee the development of the nation’s Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme.


Source-The Hindu.