Government names nine new smart cities

Why in News?

Nine cities have been chosen in the fourth round of the Centre’s flagship Smart Cities Mission. The cities are-Bareilly, Moradabad and Saharanpur in Uttar Pradesh, Erode in Tamil Nadu, Bihar Sharif in Bihar, Silvassa in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Diu in Daman and Diu, Kavaratti in Lakshadweep and Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh.



Smart City Mission

It is an innovative and new initiative by the Government of India to drive economic growth and improve the quality of life of people by enabling local development and harnessing technology as a means to create smart outcomes for citizens.

Each smart city, selected through a city challenge competition, would get a Central assistance of Rs. 100 crore per year for five years. A total of Rs 48,000 crore would be spent on creating 100 smart cities across India.

The Smart Cities Mission is meant to set examples that can be replicated both within and outside the Smart City, catalysing the creation of similar Smart Cities in various regions and parts of the country.


Mission Strategy

i) Pan-city initiative in which at least one Smart Solution is applied city-wide

ii)Develop areas step-by-step – three models of area-based developments





Cities accommodate nearly 31% of India’s current population and contribute 63% of GDP (Census 2011). Urban areas are expected to house 40% of India’s population and contribute 75% of India’s GDP by 2030.  This requires the comprehensive development of physical, institutional, social and economic infrastructure.

Development of Smart Cities is a step in this direction.



Source-The Economic Times.